Remember me

Fortunately or not;

Death greets us all.

Once we lived and soon we’re gone.

For this mortal speck, in the boundless vast,

will be but a memory, of the past.

But I, as a soul, want to last.

Remember me, remember me.

For death shall know and it shall remember,

It was I who met it, with that smile

the smile of knowing that I’m gone

But not forgotten,

the smile of knowing that you will

remember me.

Though I have not, not yet, 

done that, which you haven’t too;

Though I have not, not yet,

been what you haven’t been too;

Though I am just that what you are,

It shouldn’t stop one from making me last.

For I’ve not done something to remember,

But I have lived as who I am.

And that’s all it takes and

one needs nothing more to

remember me. To remember me.

Remember me, for all of my good

Remember me, for the bundle of my bad,

For both are but the two sides of me and

without one, the other won’t last.

If my smile was bright, don’t forget it soon

If my eyes were a sight, remember them too

If you ever miss me, then fret not

as it takes nothing but gives way more

to remember me, to remember me. 
-Hariharan Sriram (The Skookum).

One thought on “Remember me

Leave a comment